Archive for December 4, 2010

Pear and Feta Salad

Pear and Feta Salad

Pear and Feta Salad - before pecans

I am returning to the workforce after being a new-again mommy for the last several months. Yippy! – I get to be a grown up again (because being a mom isn’t work, right?).

Luckily, I only have a 30 minute lunch and that restricts me to bringing my lunch. It is amazing how difficult it is to hold ourselves to the same standards we hold our children to, sometimes. Big Boy brings his lunch everyday and I think nothing of it: “Yes, of course I make his lunch. I want him to have the best.” But me? I have to convince myself that real food is the way to go. It’s sad, really.

If I have to be responsible, it might as well be delicious. So here is my salad I will be eating this week. Simple, easy, and an interesting combination of textures and flavors. Much better than some lettuce with store-bought Italian thrown on in haste.

*Note* I have nothing against store bought Italian; I use it all the time. But this is soooo much better…

Yield: 1 serving

1/4 cup fresh diced pear

1 oz crumbled feta cheese

1 oz chopped pecans (optional)

1 cup fresh romaine

Rinse romaine, and rip to bite size pieces. Add romaine, pear, feta, and pecans to medium bowl.

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp red wine vinegar

1/2 tsp chopped garlic

1/4 tsp ground mustard

Mix together oil, vinegar, garlic, and mustard in a small cup. Pour over salad and mix well.

So, it is divine. Although I wonder if I shouldn’t have added a dash of salt to the dressing? I tend not to use salt unless it is needed for baking, etc.

Score: @@@ – Very good! I would have no issues sharing this with guests. Maybe a @@@@? What do you think?

Comments (1)