Archive for December 15, 2010

Mango Puree

Mango Puree

Mango Puree - frozen

Mango, Mango, Mango!

I think I wanted to do mangoes just so I could dance and sing while feeding Baby Boy. It’s fun. You should try it.

These turned out great! Pureed well, froze well, defrosted well AND he ate them. Well, one time he screamed the entire time he ate them, but I’ll take what I can get.

Warning: If you have never peeled and chunked fresh mango, then you may want to look up instructions first. I knew they had some sort of pit inside, but thought it would be like an avocado. It’s not. It’s more like a peach pit, but thin and long. I did more of a mango massacre than a nice cutting job. It got the job done, though!

Yield: 32 oz mango puree

3 fresh mango

1 – 1 1/2 cups water

Peel mango and cut open to remove pit. Chunk the meat of the mango fruit. Add to blender with 1 cup of water. Chop on low speed until smooth enough to blend. Blend on high speed for at least one minute or until there are no chunks. Add additional water if needed to blend or thin mixture. Pour immediately into 1-2 oz. containers and chill.

These worked great and I would do this again. I am going to look up instructions on cutting fresh mango, though. And again, this would work great as part of a smoothie or frozen drink.

Score: @@@

Leave a Comment