Archive for December 27, 2010

Monday Muffins: Apple Streusel

Monday Muffins: Apple Streusel

Monday Muffins: Apple Streusel

Oh yummy fantasicness!

 I am so pleased with this weeks muffin. Big Boy and I used half of the batter for mini-muffins and the other half for normal sized muffins. Both were fantastic. The recipe included a toping, but I also did a simple icing on top. It seems that many of these recipes in Muffins, by Elizabeth Alston, have a solid base, but need just something a little extra to make the excellent.

Yield: 12 muffins or 24 mini-muffins

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional – I didn’t use any)

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

3 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp butter, room temperature

1/4 tsp pumpkin spice (or cinnamon)

Mix together ingredients in a small bowl. Set aside.

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 large eggs

1 cup vanilla yogurt (recipe called for sour cream)

1/4 cup butter, melted

1 cup diced apple

Pre-heat oven to 375° and grease muffin tins. Mix together ingredients in a medium bowl until just mixed. Do not over mix. Spoon batter into muffin tins. Top with 1-2 tsp of topping mixture. Bake at 375° for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Remove from tin to cool.

1 cup powdered sugar

1/4 cup milk

Mix together sugar and milk in a small bowl. Microwave for 20 seconds, then stir. Add additional sugar if liquid became too thin.Use spoon to drizzle over top of muffins. Serve warm or room temperature.

Uncharacteristically, I did not use whole wheat flour. I’m at my mother and she does not have any. In the future I will be using 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose flour.

I thought my mini-muffins would require a shorter cooking time, but they did not. These muffins did not brown on top, so make sure to use the cooking time as your measure.

Score: @@@@ I would share these with strangers, no problem!

Comments (1)