Archive for December 19, 2010

Italian Meatballs

Italian Meatballs

Italian Meatballs

I make meatballs with ground turkey or chicken, but this could also be done with beef. I’ve found that turkey works better for stronger flavored meatballs, like Italian, and chicken works better for more mild meatballs, like Chinese.

These were good, but a little dry because I forgot to add the milk. They were still devoured nearly instantly upon completion.

Yield: 24 meatballs

1 pound ground meat

1 large egg

1/3 cup bread crumbs

1 tbsp Italian seasoning

1/4 cup milk

1 tsp California seasoned pepper (@ Penzie’s Spices)

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Pre-heat oven to 350° and line baking sheet with aluminum foil. Mix all ingredients in a medium-sized bowl until well blended. Use hands or two tablespoons to shape meatballs. Place evenly on foil. Bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes or until no longer pink inside. Peel from foil and serve warm.

I have to say, aluminum foil is one of the best inventions known to man. I don’t think I would like to cook if it weren’t for foil. It makes clean up SO much easier.

Score: @@@ Or, well… They would have been if I had remembered the milk.

Leave a Comment